PDA

View Full Version : Using hyphen in domain name



AlexzPablate
12-09-2010, 04:28 PM
If you use hyphen in domain name then it doesn't look good.

But in case of not finding what you want then you may use it as well as it also not harm you from the SEO prospective.

vikas1234
12-17-2010, 02:09 AM
if you dont have hyphen in domain name then its always good as fas as SEO is concerned

Jarcher697
01-25-2011, 09:28 AM
Hello, I have been looking for answers on this issue. My domain has 3 hyphens - does this count as a big negative towards the site score as a whole? Your opinions would be much appreciated.

HostEase
01-27-2011, 03:35 AM
Probably using hyphens in your domain name makes it easier for search engines to read but it generally will not benefit your ranking.If you use hyphens then the keywords are easier to pick out from your domain name.When choosing your domain name and deciding on whether to use hyphens you need to consider how the domain name is going to be interpreted and used by other people, not machines. I choose domain name without hyphens purely because most people will type domains without the hyphens.

Mark Kate
02-09-2011, 07:07 AM
Hyphens are treated by Google just like word separators, don't hurt, don't help.
Google was officially recommending using hyphens over underscores to separate words in url.

I can't find a link to this right now, but there is a video on youtube where Matt Cutts talks specifically about hyphens in urls, not in domain names but in urls in general

Dedicated Servers (http://www.ezzi.net/) | Dedicated Server (http://www.ezzi.net/)

dnspointers
03-02-2011, 04:27 AM
But in case of not finding what you want then you may use it as well as it also not harm you from the SEO prospective.

diegomartin65
05-13-2011, 06:51 AM
Belike using hyphens in your orbit constitute makes it easier for look engines to interpret but it mostly gift not aid your senior.If you use hyphens then the keywords are easier to take out from your orbit phratry.When choosing your orbit denote and determinant on whether to use hyphens you beggary to deliberate how the orbit institute is accomplishment to be interpreted and old by new grouping, not machines. I opt demesne patois without hyphens purely because most people leave type domains without the hyphens.

HenryWilson
06-03-2011, 10:48 AM
SEO is concerned hyphens in the domain name doesn't effect much

AlexM
06-06-2011, 05:48 AM
But in case of not finding what you want then you may use it as well as it also not harm you from the SEO prospective.
_________________
SEO London (http://www.totally-londonseo.co.uk/)

I agree, you can defo use a hyphen in a domain

HenryWilson
06-06-2011, 01:18 PM
Hyphens are treated by Google just like word separators, don't hurt, don't help.
Google was officially recommending using hyphens over underscores to separate words in url.

I can't find a link to this right now, but there is a video on youtube where Matt Cutts talks specifically about hyphens in urls, not in domain names but in urls in general

Dedicated Servers (http://www.ezzi.net/) | Dedicated Server (http://www.ezzi.net/)


Can you share the link of the video?

Yigedajiba
06-13-2011, 04:48 AM
a good name should both consider the google and the readers...

JerrickYeoh
08-17-2011, 10:51 PM
i would suggest not to use it while it do not bring any effect of search result because no one will search with keywords plus hyphen.
It will make people more hard to remember . Domain must be short , simple, contain keywords and easy to remember.

SiberForum
09-06-2011, 05:02 AM
Hyphens can be good, but I must say that the majority of webmasters prefer to reg domains without hyphens.

Domain must be short , simple, contain keywords and easy to remember.
I agree with you entirely cos a good domain is good money in your pocket.

iqbal77
03-27-2012, 08:27 PM
hyphens domains are as good as the domain without hyphens

felixnolan118
08-17-2012, 01:00 AM
You can use hyphens in the domain name. The domain name should be catchy and unique. The keyword with hyphen can be easily pulled out.

freddyevans552
08-22-2012, 06:45 AM
I have been trying to find out why this happens but I have failed to get an answer. I have three hyphens in my domain, does it create any problem in my score of the site. If you can give your opinion I would be grateful.

williamsjack
08-31-2012, 06:04 AM
thanks for this informative info

abhishekabhi
09-01-2012, 09:38 AM
HI

I agree with you .
thanks for give knowledge.

terrenceperez56
10-10-2012, 01:00 AM
I am unable to find an appropriate answer. I just wanted to know as to whether the use of three hyphens holds substantial impact on my website.