PDA

View Full Version : DO NOT use IPower Web !!!

glennn.php
06-27-2006, 11:28 AM
http://www.webhostingunleashed.com/reviews/ipowerweb-reviews.htm << of 166 reviews, only 32 are positive.

I've been developing for 6 years, have encountered IPower SEVERAL times over
these years through many clients who've unwittingly signed up for their
services. From the very first (a few years ago), i've experienced the worst
service and incapabilites i could ever imagine; VERY LONG
phone holds, and very APATHETIC AND RUDE customer service. // Over the past
several months my experiences with them have become nightmarish. To name
a few:

1) they're offering very inexpensive domain purchases -> i've taken
advantage of these "bargains", with gritted teeth, and EACH time i've ordered a domain, the administrative email for me to manage my domains has taken
three or four days to arrive (when most resellers can automate such an email
within MINUTES). Even after a phone call or two, this considerably important email would take another day or so. Invariably.

2) more than once the email contained BROKEN LINKS to an administrative area, (i.e. 169.125.000 - three groups of digits in an IP address, for instance) - a phone call to tech support gained me a link to their NEW, all inclusive Members Admin Area that was
supposed to consolidate a customer's accounts. I administered my nameserver changes, only to find two or three days later that the changes didn't take).

3) i installed a VERY SIMPLE PHP mail() function on a webiste for a client of
mine that refused to work on their servers. It worked on my own machine, it worked on all the
other servers i tested it on, but it didn't work on IPower's servers. Tech
Support, once i got them on the phone, told me that they don't offer Script or
Code support for web designers, and i had to CONVINCE them that the error was
SERVER SIDE. It took a half an hour for support to decide to "escalate" this