PDA

View Full Version : fixed v/s flexible hosting

nbodiju
12-20-2006, 10:37 AM
A warm welcome to all the forum members

I am a web designer from goa(India).
I have just started a web designing business and initially need to host two websites on one account.
Is it better to go for flexible hosting

or should i go for fixed hosting.

my idea of hosting two websites in fixed hosting would be as follows.

i have on account of say 1000MB which i have registered under siteone.com

I have a second site called sitetwo.com

can i place the index.html file of sitetwo.com in the folder which would be located at the following address
www.siteone.com/folderofsitetwo

and then redirect the domain name sitetwo.com to the above index,html file

will it work ?

also can anyone suggest some good flexible resellers for newbies

NS-Icon
12-20-2006, 01:46 PM
Hi,

Welcome to HN. With regards to your question, what you are looking for is multi-domain hosting; this type of hosting allows you to add an x number of domain names to an existing hosting account. You purchase a hosting plan lets say its 1000MB disk space and 1000MB bandwidth per month and allows you to host up to two domain names, you can then choose domain A to have 500MB disk space and 500MB bandwidth per month, and domain B to have 500MB disk space and 500MB bandwidth per month which when coupled together equals your total hosting account allocation.

With this type of hosting you would not need any redirects; however, if you still wish to setup your hosting in such manner it can also be possible.

Reseller hosting is pretty much the same as multi-domain hosting, however, with this type of hosting, you set the limits for your hosting plans and sell those on to other clients. Generally with reseller hosting you have a larger package allowing you to resell from until you feel you have nearly maxed out your reseller account, you can then upgrade to a larger plan, or eventually move to a semi / dedicated server.