PDA

View Full Version : Server Advice Please

nasprey
01-27-2009, 04:55 AM
Hi All,

I just registed over here hoping for a little advice. Im a Server Newb, (with the exception of a HP Media Server).

Basically our company only has three staff. We do NVQ qualifications mostly for the construction industry.

Until now we have been using paper candidate logbooks, but are starting to introduce the E-Logbook for users with computer access.

We currently use the HP Media Server for all our documents and to allow the other members of staff to remoteley access the system to update tracking sheets etc. The system works 'ok-ish' but far from great.

What we are hoping to do is install a new server and set up 'User Areas' so that each candidate gets their own private area to keep their E-Logbook and various documents. This would mean our assessors would be able to keep checking their progress without having to visit them on site.

When I was at college they had this system which could be accessed by 'ftp://joeboggs.school.net' (or something like that) so students could access and edit their work from home. This is exactly what we are aiming to do, but we would need the capacity to offer up to 100 (maybe more) individual user accounts for our candidates.

I would be very grateful if someone could give me an idea of what i need to do this; and roughly at what cost. I really have no idea if we are looking at £1000 or £100,000.

Any help would be very much appriciated :)

many thanks

Nick

~ServerPoint~
01-28-2009, 03:33 AM
Hello Nick!
Could you please leave here specification for your server (the one you are currently using).
I guess that you might will be able to work on the VPS server. But more details are needed.

nasprey
01-28-2009, 04:53 AM
Thanks for the help!

The server i'm currently using is just a cheap-o PC world jobbie, here it is:

http://www.ballicom.co.uk/systems/personal-computers/hp-mediasmart-server-ex475--sempron-18-ghz.p353230.html

Main Specifications